Top of Page

Construction Image

Welcome to the Contractors State License Board

The Contractors State License Board(CSLB) protects California consumers by licensing and regulating the state's construction industry. CSLB was established in 1929 and today licenses about 290,000 contractors in 44 different classifications.


Workshop on CSLB’s Solar Energy System Restitution Program

PG&E is hosting a workshop on Tuesday, December 6, from 1:30-3:30 p.m. to assess the CSLB-administered solar consumer assistance fund and possible need for additional funding, as required by Ordering Paragraph 1 of Decision 21-09-024. On Page 33 of the Decision is the list of topics for the workshop. PG&E must host this workshop within 30 days of CSLB’s publication of notice that it has paid out 50 percent ($2 million) of the available Solar Energy System Restitution Program funds. The meeting will be open to the public and can be accessed here on Microsoft Teams

Solar Consumers – Important Reminder

Contractors may not accept more than 10% of the contract price or $1,000, whichever is less, as a down payment on a home improvement contract (including for a solar energy system). A contractor cannot request or accept progress payment(s) exceeding the value of work performed or materials delivered on a home improvement contract.

Solar Energy System Contracting Tips

If you’re considering installing a residential solar energy system, there is important information you need to consider so you can be “Solar Smart.” More details can be found on CSLB’s Solar Smart page.

End of the COVID-19 State of Emergency

On October 17, 2022, Governor Gavin Newsom announced the State of Emergency , and associated Executive Orders N-39-20 and N-75-20, will end on February 28, 2023.

Read the Governor’s press release for more detailed information about the end of the COVID-19 State of Emergency.

California Licensed Contractor Stats - As of


Active Licenses


Inactive Licenses


Total Contractors


Change in Last Month


Change in Last 12 Months