CSLB offers resources and information to help contractors perform professionally, legally, and safely. CSLB encourages licenses to routinely monitor their license status to confirm that it is "active" and not under suspension.
If you're at least 18 years old and have at least four years of journey-level work experience over the past 10 years, congratulations--you're well on your way to getting your very own contractor license.
- Learn How to Become a Licensed Contractor
How to apply for and get your contractor license
- Consequences of Contracting Without a License
Avoid jail, prison or steep fines
- Help If You Already Have a Contractors License from Another State or Country
Contractor licenses from other states or countries are not transferable but may help you obtain your California license
- More information can be found at the journeymen home page
As a condition of licensure, an applicant must take and pass two examinations:
- Law and business
(Exception: A trade examination is not required for the C-61 Limited Specialty classification.) Under certain conditions, a waiver of the examination(s) may be granted. Final determination as to whether the applicant meets the requirements for the examination or the criteria for the waiver is made during the application review process.
- Apply for a Contractor License
- List of CSLB Classifications
- Apply for Home Improvement Salesperson Registration
- Apply for a Joint Venture License
- Licenses for Limited Liability Companies (LLC)License
- Military Application Assistance Programs
- Apply for Reciprocity
Equivalency determinations for similar Arizona, Louisiana, Nevada, and Utah contractor classifications
- Additional Applicants Information
CSLB offers resources and information to help contractors perform professionally, legally, and safely.
- What Jobs a "B" General Contractor Can/Cannot Perform
- California Energy Commission Appliance Assistance Program - Title 20
- CSLB Zero Tolerance Policy In Effect for Non-Compliant Electricians
CSLB's zero-tolerance enforcement policy against any C-10 Electrical contractors who willfully employs uncertified electrician to perform work as an electrician
- HVAC Ambassador Program
Educational fact sheets for your customer bid packets about the financial benefits of proper HVAC installation and hiring licensed contractors.
- Mechanics Lien Forms
Only Use updated (July 2012) Mechanics Lien forms
- Updating Your Contact Information
Notify CSLB when your contact information changes
- Contractor's Guide to Licensing
Information about maintaining and changing your license
- Licenses for Limited Liability Companies (LLC)
Application steps for LLCs
- Dealing with License Problems
Private arbitration, judgment, and outstanding liability issues
- Dealing with a Complaint Filed Against You
- Additional Contractor Information