page    >>    1      2      3      4      5      6      7      8      |      License Revocations

Regulation for Off-Road Diesel Fleets Currently
in Effect

The California Air Resources Board's regulation for In-Use Off-Road Diesel Fueled Fleets currently requires all off-road diesel vehicles to be reported to ARB and labeled. It also limits idling to no more than five minutes and requires disclosure when an affected vehicle is sold.

In 2014, gradual requirements for fleets to clean up their off-road vehicles by getting rid of older engines, using newer engines, and installing exhaust retrofits will take effect. More information on the Off-Road regulation and assistance to report your vehicles is available online or by calling 1.877.59.DOORS (1.877.593.6677).

photo of an off-road vehicle
On-Road Diesel Truck Owners Must Act Now
photo of a diesel truck

New California air pollution rules require contractors and businesses to reduce diesel exhaust emissions from existing trucks from 2012 to 2023. Requirements of the truck and bus regulation differ by the gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR).

Heavier Truck Requirements (greater than
26,000 lbs. GVWR)
By January 1, 2012, truck owners must retrofit 1996–1999 model year engines with particulate matter (PM) filters, or they can choose to comply with a phase-in option that requires 30 percent of the trucks to have PM filters. (Note: Small fleets with one to three trucks can delay compliance with these requirements by reporting fleet information to the Air Resources Board.)

Fleet owners must register all of their heavier trucks with the Air Resources Board by January 31, 2012, to take advantage of other compliance options, which include delays for the following:

  • Contractors with low-mileage construction trucks that operate less than 15,000 miles per year, and dump trucks that operate less than 20,000 miles per year;
  • Fleets that have downsized since 2006; and
  • Fleets that have installed PM filters on their off-road equipment
Lighter Truck Requirements (14,001 to 26,000 lbs. GVWR)
Truck replacements begin January 1, 2015, and reporting is not required.

Learn more about regulations that affect your diesel equipment and possible funding opportunities online or call 866-6DIESEL.    |    | previous    |    next