Skip to Main Content
Home Page Menu
Search
Organization Title

Contractors Board Warns Consumers About Unlicensed Contractors After Disasters

SACRAMENTO — The Contractors State License Board (CSLB) is warning consumers about the dangers of hiring unlicensed contractors following a disaster, whether it is earthquake, fire, flood or mudslide. Unscrupulous, unlicensed contractors often prey on victims of natural disasters.

It is a felony to contract without a license in a declared disaster area. Consumers can protect themselves by using CSLB's resources to check a contractor's license status and history.

"Although it’s understandable that property owners want to begin rebuilding quickly, it’s important not to rush the process and hire the first contractor who comes along," said CSLB Registrar Cindi Christenson. "Take your time and protect yourself against con artists who will take your money and run—or incompetent contractors who will perform shoddy work. Hire only licensed contractors and check their qualifications."

Consumers can verify a contractor's license status and order publications on this website. You can also call CSLB, toll-free: (800) 321-CSLB (2752).

Contractors working on a job—from debris removal to rebuilding—totaling $500 or more for labor and materials must be licensed by CSLB. To become licensed, a contractor must pass a licensing examination, verify at least four years of journey-level experience, carry a license bond, and pass a criminal background check.

CSLB urges consumers to follow these tips when dealing with a building contractor:

  • Hire only licensed contractors and ask to see the license.
  • Verify the contractor's license by checking online at www.cslb.ca.gov.
  • Don't rush into decisions and don't hire the first contractor who comes along.
  • Don't pay more than 10 percent down or $1,000—whichever is less.
  • Don't pay cash, and don't let the payments get ahead of the work.
  • Get three bids, check references, and get a written contract.
  • Contact CSLB if you have a complaint against a contractor.

The Contractors State License Board operates under the umbrella of the California Department of Consumer Affairs. CSLB licenses and regulates California's 290,000 contractors. In fiscal year 2014-15, CSLB helped recover nearly $68 million in ordered restitution for consumers.

Connect with us on Twitter
Like Us on Facebook
 
Back to Top