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Contractors State License Board Sting in Fresno County Catches 12 
Suspected Unlicensed Contractors 

Sting suspect makes $5,000 bid to undercover investigators 

SACRAMENTO –   Spring home improvement work in Fresno County is continuing at a 

rapid rate, and residents need to remember to hire licensed contractors. A recent 

Contractors State License Board (CSLB) undercover sting in Clovis caught 12 persons 

allegedly contracting without a license. 

The high bid of $5,000 from the April 28-29, 2021 

operation provided to undercover investigators was for 

concrete outside of a home. That bid is well over the legal 

limit for contracting without a license. In California, it's 

illegal for an unlicensed person to bid for or perform any 

home improvement valued at $500 or more in combined 

labor and material costs.  

CSLB partnered with the Fresno County District Attorney’s 

Office, the Clovis Police Department and the California Department of Insurance to 

conduct the undercover operation. CSLB Statewide Investigative Fraud Team (SWIFT) 

members posed as owners of a three-bedroom home and invited suspected unlicensed 

contractors to place bids on home renovation projects.    

The 12 alleged unlicensed contractors gave bids for home improvement jobs, 

including painting, concrete, landscaping, fencing, and tree work. They will be referred 

to the Fresno County District Attorney’s Office for contracting without a license 

(Business and Professions Code (BPC) §7028). First-conviction penalties include up to 

six months in jail and/or up to $5,000 in fines. 

Three of the suspects who did not have the proper workers’ compensation 

insurance policies to cover those working for them are facing additional charges (Labor 
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Code § 3700.5). As a reminder, contractors must carry workers’ compensation 

insurance if they have employees.  

“Consumers need to use caution when hiring a 

licensed contractor, and make sure the contractor 

is carrying workers’ compensation insurance,” 

said CSLB Registrar David Fogt. “Without 

workers’ compensation insurance, a consumer 

may be liable for a worker’s injuries while on the job.” 

If contractors don't have employees, they must file a workers' compensation 

exemption with CSLB, which is noted on the license record.  

Three of the suspects violating workers’ compensation regulations were also 

issued a Stop Order – a legal demand to cease all employee labor at a job site until 

required workers compensation insurance is obtained (BPC § 7127).  

Consumers can check a contractor’s workers’ compensation information by 

performing an “Instant License Check” on the CSLB website.  This feature allows 

homeowners to search by license number, name, or business name to find individual 

contractor pages. Each page shows if the contractor’s license is active and in good 

standing, and it lists bond and workers’ compensation insurance information.   

One contractor was also cited for requiring an excessive down payment (BPC § 

7159.5). It is illegal for contractors to ask for more than 10 percent down or $1,000 for 

home improvement projects, whichever is less. 

Eleven individuals may face a misdemeanor charge for illegal advertising. 

Unlicensed contractors must state in all ads that they do not have a license (BPC 

§7027.1). The penalty for violating the advertising rules for unlicensed contractors is a 

fine of $700 to $1,000. 

Consumers should also remember: 

• You should always get three bids from licensed contractors before hiring 

anyone to perform home improvement work. 

• Homeowners can use CSLB's “Find My Licensed Contractor” feature to 

build and download a list of qualified licensed contractors in their area.  
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• Those interested in getting a contractor license are encouraged to attend 

one of our licensing workshops. 

All suspects were ordered to appear at the Fresno Superior Court of California, 

on June 15 and 16 at 8:30 a.m. on 1100 Van Ness, Room 402, Fresno, CA  93724 

(MAP).  

The Contractors State License Board operates under the umbrella of 

the California Department of Consumer Affairs.  CSLB licenses and regulates almost 

281,000 contractors in California and is regarded as one of the leading consumer 

protection agencies in the United States. In 2020, CSLB helped recover over $26 million 

in ordered restitution.  

You can now follow @CSLBnews on Twitter to receive all official press releases 

from Contractors State License Board. 
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