## **Industry Bulletin**

www.cslb.ca.gov

CheckTheLicenseFirst.com

SeniorScamStopper.com

a Industry

November 5, 2021 CSLB #21-20

#### **CSLB Announces New Fee Schedule for 2022**

The Contractors State License Board (<u>CSLB</u>), which is funded entirely by license fees, protects consumers and supports the California construction industry by licensing contractors, providing resources for licensees, enforcing contractor laws, and educating consumers on the importance of hiring licensed contractors.

Because of increased operating costs, the state legislature recently approved a CSLB fee increase effective on January 1, 2022. This is the first statutory fee increase since 2017. The fee increases are the result of a study performed by a private consultant to establish CSLB's actual cost of performing the services associated with the fees.

In addition to reorganizing CSLB's statutory fee schedule and adding one new fee to change a license business name, the following should be noted about the <u>legislative bill</u> that makes these changes:

- Initial license and renewal fees are now divided by entity type (sole owner, corporations, partnerships, joint ventures, and limited liability companies)
- The \$450 active license renewal fee for sole ownerships is NOT being increased in 2022.

The decision to raise fees is not made lightly and in recent years CSLB has taken multiple measures to reduce costs. Unfortunately, CSLB cannot further reduce the expenditures that support the licensing and enforcement programs without negatively affecting our ability to process applications in a timely manner and to quickly mediate or investigate consumer complaints.

This fee increase will ensure that CSLB continues to be effective in regulating the construction industry in California.

# CSLB Fee Schedule Effective January 1, 2022 <u>Application and Licensing Fees</u>

Fee Type	Dec. 31, 2021, or <u>BEFORE</u>	Jan. 1, 2022, or <u>AFTER</u>
Application for Original Contractor License (exam/waiver)	\$330.00	\$450.00
Initial License Fee (Sole owner)	\$200.00	\$200.00
Initial License Fee (Corp/Partners/JV/LLC)	\$200.00	\$350.00
Additional Classification (with waiver for original application)	\$75.00	\$150.00
Supplemental Classification (for existing license)	\$150.00	\$230.00
Rescheduling an Examination	\$60.00	\$100.00
Add New Personnel	\$100.00	\$125.00
Replacing the Qualifying Individual (for an existing license)	\$150.00	\$230.00
Change of Business Name		\$100.00
License Reactivation (Sole Owner)	\$450.00	\$450.00
License Reactivation (Corp/Partners/JV/LLC)	\$450.00	\$700.00
Application for Home Improvement Salesperson Registration (HIS)	\$83.00	\$200.00
Application for Asbestos Certification	\$83.00	\$125.00
Application for Hazardous Substance Removal Certification	\$83.00	\$125.00

#### **Renewal Fees**

Fee Type	Dec. 31, 2021, or <u>BEFORE</u>	Jan. 1, 2022, or <u>AFTER</u>
Active License (Sole Owner)	\$450.00	\$450.00
Active License (Corp/Partners/JV/LLC)	\$450.00	\$700.00
Inactive License (Sole Owner)	\$225.00	\$300.00
Inactive License (Corp/Partners/JV/LLC)	\$225.00	\$500.00
HIS Registration	\$95.00	\$200.00
Electrician Certification (C-10) Additional Renewal Fee	\$20.00	\$20.00

### **Delinquent Renewal Fees (renewal fee + penalty)**

Fee Type	Dec. 31, 2021, or <u>BEFORE</u>	Jan. 1, 2022, or <u>AFTER</u>
Active Delinquent License (Sole Owner)	\$675.00	\$675.00
Active Delinquent License (Corp/Partners/JV/LLC)	\$675.00	\$1,050.00
Inactive Delinquent License (Sole Owner)	\$337.50	\$450.00
Inactive Delinquent License (Corp/Partners/JV/LLC)	\$337.50	\$750.00
HIS Delinquent Registration	\$142.50	\$300.00

#### Miscellaneous Fees

Fee Type	Dec. 31, 2021, or <u>BEFORE</u>	Jan. 1, 2022, or AFTER
Duplicate/Replacement Pocket/Wall Certificates	\$12.00	\$25.00
Dishonored Check	\$10.00	\$25.00