
 

 

 

 

3  Construction Project   
Check List   
Check the contractor license number at  
www.cslb.ca.gov to make sure it is current  
and in good standing. 

Ask to see the contractor’s pocket license and  
a current photo ID. 

Ask for a list of current contact information  
(telephone number and business address) for  
the contractor, subcontractors, and suppliers. 

Find out from your local building department whether 
your project needs a building permit and confrm that 
your contractor will obtain all necessary permits. 

Get at least three contractor bids and references,  
and check out, in person, each prospective contractor’s 
recent similar projects. 

•  Only hire state-licensed contractors. 

• Any contractor performing work of $500 or  
more (combined labor and material costs)  
must be licensed by CSLB to work in California. 

• Avoid being caught up in high-pressure   
sales tactics. 

• Avoid rushing into repairs. Take the time to get at  
least three identical bids and verify testimonials. Ask whether your contractor carries general liability 

insurance for employees in case accidental damage 
occurs during the project, and workers’ compensation 
insurance for employees. 

Make sure all project materials and expectations  
are spelled out and signed in a written contract, 
including clean-up, debris removal, and site security. 

Ask your contractor if he or she understands your  
project expectations. 

Schedule and document each phase of your project 
and the corresponding payment schedule. Do not let 
payments get ahead of the work. 

Pay no more than 10% down or $1,000, whichever  
is less.* 

Avoid paying in cash.  

•  Ask to see the contractor’s “pocket license” 
or their representative’s “Home Improvement 
Salesperson” registration. All contractors are 
issued pocket licenses that show the type 
of trade for which they are licensed, and the 
license expiration date. Ask to see a photo 
identifcation to confrm their identity. 

Keep all of your project documents, including  
payments and photographs, in a job fle. 

Try researching your contractor’s name online for 
additional reviews. 

CONTRACTORS STATE LICENSE BOARD 

P.O. Box 26000 
Sacramento, CA 95826-0026 
800.321.CSLB (2752) 
www.cslb.ca.gov • CheckTheLicenseFirst.com 

* There is an exception to this rule for contractors who have fled  
a blanket performance and payment bond with CSLB’s Registrar.  
This information is noted on the contractor’s license detail page  
on CSLB’s website. 

Protect yourself  from 
unscrupulous or  
unlicensed contractors. 
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A free telephone 

call to CSLB or a 

few clicks on its 

website can verify 

that the license of 

the contractor you 

plan to hire is in 

good standing (with 

a current, active, 

or unrestricted 

license) and that  

he or she is 

licensed to perform 

the specifc type of 

contracted work. 

Check the License First 
By law, anyone in California who contracts for or  
bids on a construction project valued at $500 or  
more (combined labor and material costs) must be  
licensed by the Contractors State License Board  
(CSLB). To qualify for a license, a contractor must  
verify four years of journey-level experience in  
the trade, pass both a trade and license law and  
business examination, and post a license bond.  
Since 2005, all new contractors have been required  
to pass a criminal background check. Contractors  
are required to put their CSLB license number in all  
advertisements. Ask to see the contractor’s plastic  
pocket license and photo identifcation. 

•  Verify the license and make sure it is in  
good standing by visiting www.cslb.ca.gov   
or by calling CSLB’s toll-free automated line: 
800.321.CSLB (2752). 

•  Remember: Contractors with employees must carry 
workers’ compensation insurance. (C-39 Roofng 
contractors must have a workers’ compensation 
policy even if they do not have employees.) 

• Get at least three bids, ask for references from the 
contractors’ previous customers in the local area, 
and view the contractors’ past projects in person. 

•  Unlicensed operators are required to include 
in their advertisements that they are not state-
licensed and can only perform work valued at  
less than $500. 

Complaint Forms 
If you have a complaint against a contractor,   
forms are available at www.cslb.ca.gov, or call  
800.321.CSLB (2752) and ask for a copy of   
A Consumer Guide to Filing Construction Complaints  
and a complaint form. 

Financial Information 

•  Avoid paying in cash. 

•  Contractors cannot ask for a deposit of more than 
10 percent of the total cost of the job or $1,000, 
whichever is less.* (This applies to any home 
improvement project, including swimming pools.) 

• Stick to your schedule of payments and don’t let 
payments get ahead of the completed work. 

Get It in Writing 

•  Make sure you have a written contract and don’t 
sign it until you fully understand the terms. 

•  All changes to the contract, or “change orders,” 
need to be in writing and signed by both parties. 

•  Keep a job fle of all project papers, photographs, 
and payments—and don’t make the fnal payment 
until you’re satisfed with the job. 

• Homeowners waive their three-day right to cancel 
if they sign a “service and repair contract,” which 
is different from a standard “home improvement 
contract.” (Service and repair contracts are usually 
for emergency repair work where the consumer 
initiated the contact.)    

License History 

•  If you want information about a contractor’s 
license history and pending or prior disciplinary 
actions, please call the appropriate CSLB Legal 
Action Disclosure telephone number: 

Northern Region:   
(916) 255-4041  

Southern Region:  
(562) 345-7656 

http://www.cslb.ca.gov
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
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