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Undercover Sting Leads to Unlicensed Contractors in 

Greater Sacramento Area 

Sacramento, CA – The Contractors State License Board (CSLB) went undercover in 
Roseville and caught more than a dozen individuals contracting without a license. The 
suspects are now facing fines and potential jail time for allegedly violating California 
contractor laws.  
 
During the last week of March, CSLB’s Statewide Investigative Fraud Team (SWIFT) 
partnered with the California Department of Insurance and the Placer County District 
Attorney’s Office to issue Notice to Appear in criminal court citations to unlicensed 
contractors. Individuals were invited to place bids for residential construction projects at 
a single-family home. Of the suspects who came to the sting, 13 were caught for placing 
bids over the legal limit.  
 
The bids ranged from $2,500 for carpet removal and installation to as much as $7,100 
for concrete work, all above the legal $500 threshold for contracting without a license. In 
California, contracting without a license is a misdemeanor and punishable by a fine of 
up to $15,000.  
 
Additionally, 11 of the suspects could face additional charges for advertising their 
construction services without having the mandatory license. In California, it is a 
misdemeanor for any person to advertise for construction or home improvement work 
unless they hold a valid license in the classification being advertised.  
 
“There is little recourse for homeowners who have been victimized by an unlicensed 
contractor,” said David Fogt, CSLB Registrar. “That’s why CSLB educates consumers 
on how to protect themselves by hiring a licensed contractor – it takes just a few 
minutes to find a licensed contractor in California.” 
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During the sting, two individuals also asked for an excessive down payment ahead of 
starting the work. Contractors can only ask for 10% or $1,000, whichever is less. This is 
a misdemeanor that could result in charges of up to $5,000, or up to a one-year county 
jail sentence, or both the fine and imprisonment.  

 
One individual was issued an order to cease all work until a workers’ compensation 
insurance policy is obtained for their workers. CSLB investigators can halt jobsite 
activity when any person, with or without a contractor license, does not have workers' 
compensation insurance coverage for employees. Failure to comply with a stop order 
can result in misdemeanor charges and penalties, including 60 days in jail and/or up to 
$10,000 in fines. 
 
Penalties for not carrying workers’ compensation insurance can be severe. For a first-
time offense, suspects could be sentenced to one year in county jail and/or pay a fine of 
up to $10,000. They may also be fined $1,000 per employee on the payroll at that time 
– up to $100,000. There are additional penalties if an injured worker files a workers' 
compensation claim, and the employer doesn't have the proper insurance. That 
employee can also file a civil action against the employer. 
 

For more information, visit CSLB’s website, or connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, 
Instagram, and YouTube. 
 
About CSLB: CSLB operates under the umbrella of the Department of Consumer 
Affairs and licenses and regulates about 285,000 contractors in California.  

### 

The email was sent because you subscribed to the email alert feature on the Contractors State License 

Board website, www.cslb.ca.gov, or because you indicated an interest in receiving CSLB materials 

electronically. Your email address is not shared with third party sources. Subscribe or Unsubscribe.  

Please do not reply to this email. Contact information can be found on the CSLB website.  

Copyright © 2023 

  

http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
https://www.facebook.com/CSLB.CA
https://twitter.com/CSLB
https://www.instagram.com/cacontractorsboard/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVwfDf5K_LVzW3eY14UUFwA
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
https://www.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/MailList/MailSignUp.aspx
https://www.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/MailList/MailSignUp.aspx
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/About_Us/Contact_CSLB.aspx


 

www.cslb.ca.gov   |   www.CheckTheLicenseFirst.com   | www.SeniorScamStopper.com  

12 de abril de 2023                   CSLB #23-08 

 

Contactos con los medios de la CSLB 

Katherine White. Jefa de Asuntos Publicos. 916.255.4143. katherine.white@cslb.ca.gov 

Americo Garcia. Manager de Asuntos Publicos. 916.255.4717. americo.garcia@cslb.ca.gov 

Natalie Watmore. Oficial de Información. 916.255.3915. natalie.watmore@cslb.ca.gov 
 

Encubierta conduce a contratistas sin licencia en el área 

metropolitana de Sacramento 

Sacramento, CA – La Junta Estatal de Licencias de Contratistas (CSLB, por sus siglas 
en inglés) se infiltró en Roseville y atrapó a más de una docena de personas 
contratando sin licencia. Los sospechosos ahora enfrentan multas y posible tiempo en 
la cárcel por presuntamente violando las leyes de contratistas de California. 
 
Durante la última semana de marzo, el Equipo Estatal de Investigación de Fraudes 
(SWIFT, por sus siglas en inglés) de la CSLB se asoció con el Departamento de 
Seguros de California y la Oficina del Fiscal de Distrito del Condado de Placer para 
emitir un Aviso de Comparecencia en citaciones judiciales penales a contratistas sin 
licencia. Se invitó a las personas a presentar ofertas para proyectos de construcción 
residencial en una vivienda unifamiliar. De los sospechosos que acudieron a la redada, 
13 fueron capturados por hacer ofertas por encima del límite legal. 
 
Las ofertas varían entre $2,500 para quitar y instalar alfombras hasta $7,100 para 
trabajos de concreto, todas por encima del umbral legal de $500 para contratar sin 
licencia. En California, contratar sin licencia es un delito menor y se castiga con una 
multa de hasta $15,000. 
 
Además, 11 de los sospechosos podrían enfrentar cargos adicionales por publicando 
sus servicios de construcción sin tener la licencia obligatoria. En California, es un delito 
menor que cualquier persona anuncie trabajos de construcción o mejoras en el hogar a 
menos que tenga una licencia válida en la clasificación que se anuncia. 
 
“Existen pocos recursos para los propietarios de viviendas que han sido víctimas de un 
contratista sin licencia,” dijo David Fogt, registrador de la CSLB. “Es por eso que CSLB 
educa a los consumidores sobre cómo protegerse mediante la contratación de un 
contratista con licencia - solo lleva unos minutos encontrar un contratista con licencia 
en California.” 
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Durante la operación encubierta, dos personas también pidieron un pago inicial 
excesivo antes de comenzar el trabajo. Los contratistas solo pueden solicitar el 10% o 
$1,000, lo que sea menor. Este es un delito menor que podría resultar en cargos de 
hasta $5,000, o una sentencia de cárcel del condado de hasta un año, o la combinación 
de multa y el encarcelamiento. 
 
A un individuo se le emitió una orden de cesar todo trabajo hasta que se obtenga una 
póliza de seguro de compensación para trabajadores para sus trabajadores. Los 
investigadores de la CSLB pueden detener la actividad en el lugar de trabajo cuando 
cualquier persona, con o sin licencia de contratista, no tiene cobertura de seguro de 
compensación para trabajadores para los empleados. El incumplimiento de una orden 
de detención puede resultar en cargos y sanciones por delitos menores, incluyendo 60 
días de cárcel y/o hasta $10,000 en multas. 
 
Las sanciones por no teniendo un seguro de compensación para trabajadores pueden 
ser severas. Por una ofensa por primera vez, los sospechosos podrían ser 
sentenciados a un año en la cárcel del condado y/o pagar una multa de hasta $10,000. 
También pueden recibir una multa de $1,000 por empleado en la nómina en ese 
momento, hasta $100,000. Hay sanciones adicionales si un trabajador lastimado 
presenta un reclamo de compensación para trabajadores y el empleador no tiene el 
seguro adecuado. Ese empleado también puede presentar una acción civil contra el 
empleador. 
 
Para más información, visite el sitio web de CSLB o conéctese con nosotros en 
Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, y YouTube. 
 
Sobre CSLB: CSLB opera bajo del Departamento de Asuntos del Consumidor y 
licencias y regula a cerca de 285,000 contratistas en California. 
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