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Attorney General Bonta Warns Against Hiring Unlicensed
Contractors, Price Gouging in Aftermath of Winter Storms

Reminds Californians that price gouging restrictions remain in effect

(La traduccion al espafiol sigue)

OAKLAND, CA — California Attorney General Rob Bonta today issued a consumer alert
warning Californians to beware of fake and unlicensed contractors soliciting their
services to Californians affected by damage from the recent winter storms.

In today’s alert, Attorney General Bonta urges Californians to take precautions by hiring
only licensed contractors and reminds businesses that price gouging during a state of
emergency is illegal under Penal Code Section 396. As noted by the Contractors State
License Board (CSLB), anyone who contracts for work in a state or federal natural
disaster area without an active state contractor license may be subject to felony
charges.

“As Californians recover from the devastating storms, the last thing they should worry
about is being scammed by bad actors,” said Attorney General Bonta. “We will not
tolerate those who take advantage of consumers during this time of struggle for many. |
urge all Californians to be diligent and do their research before making any kind of
home repair through a contractor. Additionally, if you believe you have been a victim of
price gouging, report it to your local authorities or to my office at oag.ca.gov/report.”

“Disaster survivors take a huge risk when they hire unlicensed contractors,” said CSLB
Registrar David Fogt. “Most are not properly insured and likely don't have the skills or
knowledge to perform the work. It is important to verify on CSLB’s website the person
you are working with is included on CSLB’s license records.”
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Don’t Fall Victim to Unlicensed Contractors

The California Department of Justice works closely with the Contractors State License
Board (CSLB) to ensure residents do not fall victim to unlicensed home reparation and
reconstruction services. As a reminder, CSLB encourages everyone to check all
contractors’ license numbers on the CSLB website and check each contractor’s pocket
license to confirm the listed personnel on the license. Complaints against contractors for
unlicensed practices and other violations of contractor’s license law can be filed online.

Additional tips and recommendations from CSLB:

e Don’t rush into repairs or cleanup, no matter how badly they’re needed.

e Don’t sign over any payment checks from your insurance company.

e Hire only California-licensed contractors. Ask to see the license. The license
number must be on all ads, contracts, and business cards.

e Don't pay more than 10 percent down or $1,000 — whichever is less.

e Don't pay cash, and don't let the payments get ahead of the work. Only pay for
work as it is completed to your satisfaction.

e Avoid making the final payment until you’re satisfied with the job.

Price Gouging Laws Remain in Effect

California law generally prohibits charging a price that exceeds, by more than 10%, the
price of an item before a state or local declaration of emergency. For any item a seller
only began selling after an emergency declaration, the law generally prohibits charging
a price that exceeds the seller's cost of the item by more than 50%. This law applies to
those who sell food, emergency supplies, medical supplies, building materials, and
gasoline. The law also applies to repair or reconstruction services, emergency cleanup
services, certain transportation services, freight and storage services, hotel
accommodations, and rental housing. Exceptions to this prohibition exist if, for example,
the price of labor, goods, or materials has increased for the business.

Violators of the price gouging statute are subject to criminal prosecution that can result
in a one-year imprisonment in county jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000. Violators are
also subject to civil enforcement actions including civil penalties of up to $2,500 per
violation, injunctive relief, and mandatory restitution. The Attorney General and local
district attorneys can enforce the statute.

For additional information on price gouging, please
see oag.ca.gov/consumers/pricegougingduringdisasters.

For more information, visit CSLB’s website, or connect with us on Facebook, Twitter,
Instagram, and YouTube.

About CSLB: CSLB operates under the umbrella of the Department of Consumer
Affairs and licenses and regulates around 285,000 contractors in California.


https://www.cslb.ca.gov/Resources/PressReleases/2023/Storm_Damage.pdf
https://www.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/CheckLicenseII/CheckLicense.aspx
https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=https-3A__www.cslb.ca.gov_Consumers_Filing-5Fa-5FComplaint_&d=DwMFAg&c=uASjV29gZuJt5_5J5CPRuQ&r=iVNwBBGzgEcjcGa-UMLvvghOnsEE9OqAS49tcmrEuJE&m=gzDuLT7tzPDnUfImIu1gNt4PmBEbiUootr51aO0MCZP8nKFf3OXvKT_Rn7K5e2aR&s=YAtJhNMorRijKkwwqo8EWP0oIqUoHHL-wLdemhXnDgc&e=
https://oag.ca.gov/consumers/pricegougingduringdisasters
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
https://www.facebook.com/CSLB.CA
https://twitter.com/CSLB
https://www.instagram.com/cacontractorsboard/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVwfDf5K_LVzW3eY14UUFwA

it

This email was sent because you subscribed to the email alert feature on the Contractors State License Board
(CSLB) website, www.cslb.ca.gov, or because you indicated an interest in receiving CSLB materials
electronically. Your email address is not shared with third party sources. Subscribe Unsubscribe.

Please do not reply to this email. Contact information can be found on the CSLB website.


http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
https://www.cslb.ca.gov/EmailAlerts
https://www.cslb.ca.gov/EmailAlerts
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/About_Us/Contact_CSLB.aspx

CONTRACTORS STATE LICENSE BOARD

e —,

News Release

www.cslb.ca.gov | www.CheckTheLicenseFirst.com | www.SeniorScamStopper.com

26 de Enero de 2023 CSLB #23-02

Contactos de Medios del CSLB

Katherine White Americo Garcia Natalie Watmore
Jefa de Asuntos Publicos El Manager de Asuntos Oficial de Informacion
916.255.4143 Publicos 916.255.3915
katherine.white@cslb.ca.gov 916.255.4717 natalie.watmore@cslb.ca.gov

americo.garcia@cslb.ca.gov

El procurador general Bonta advierte contra la contratacion
de contratistas sin licencia después de las tormentas de
invierno

Recuerda a los californianos que las restricciones de especulacion de precios siguen
en efecto

OAKLAND, CA - El procurador general de California, Rob Bonta, emitié hoy una alerta
al consumidor advirtiendo a los californianos que tengan cuidado con los contratistas
falsos y sin licencia que solicitan sus servicios a los californianos afectados por los
dafos causado por las recientes tormentas del invierno.

En la alerta de hoy, el procurador general Bonta urge a los californianos a tomar
precauciones contratando solo a los contratistas con licencia y les recuerda a las
empresas gue el especulacion de precios durante un estado de emergencia es ilegal
por debajo la Seccion 396 del Codigo Penal. Como lo sefial6 la Junta Estatal de
Licencias de Contratistas (CSLB), cualquier persona que contrate para trabajar en un
area de desastre natural estatal o federal sin una licencia de contratista estatal activa
puede estar sujeta a cargos por delitos graves.

“‘Mientras los californianos se recuperan de las tormentas devastadoras, lo Gltimo que
deberian preocupar es ser estafados por malos actores,” dijo el procurador general
Bonta. “No toleraremos a quienes se aprovechan de los consumidores en este
momento de lucha para muchos. Urjo a todos los californianos a que sean diligentes y
investiguen antes de realizar cualquier tipo de reparacion en el hogar a través de un
contratista. Ademas, si cree que haya sido victima de un especulacion de precios,
repértelo a las autoridades locales o a mi oficina en oag.ca.gov/report.”
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“Los sobrevivientes de desastres corren un gran riesgo cuando contratan a contratistas
sin licencia,” dijo el registrador de la CSLB, David Fogt. “La mayoria no estan
debidamente asegurada y probablemente no tenga las habilidades o el conocimiento
para realizar el trabajo. Es importante a verificar en el sitio web de CSLB que la
persona con la que esta trabajando esté incluida en los registros de licencia del CSLB.”

No sea victima de contratistas sin licencia

El Departamento de Justicia de California trabaja en colaboracion con la Junta Estatal
de Licencias de Contratistas (CSLB) para garantizar que los residentes no sean
victimas de servicios de reconstruccion y reparacion de viviendas sin licencia. Como un
aviso, CSLB anima a todos a verificar los numeros de licencia de todos los contratistas
en el sitio web de CSLB y verificar la licencia de bolsillo de cada contratista para
confirmar el personal listado en la licencia. Las quejas contra contratistas por practicas
sin licencia y otras violaciones de la ley de licencias de contratistas se pueden
presentar en linea.

Consejos y recomendaciones adicionales de CSLB:

e No se apresure a realizar reparaciones o limpieza, sin importar lo mucho que se
necesiten.

e No firme ningun cheque de pago de su compafiia de seguranza.

e Contrate solo a contratistas con licencia de California. Pida ver la licencia. El
numero de licencia debe estar en todos los anuncios, contratos y tarjetas de
presentacion.

e No pague mas del 10 por ciento de enganche o $1,000, lo que sea menor.

e No pague en efectivo y no deje que los pagos se adelanten al trabajo. Solo pague
por el trabajo a medida que se complete a su satisfaccion.

e Evite hacer el pago final hasta que esté satisfecho con el trabajo.

Las leyes de elevacion de precios siguen en efecto

La ley de California generalmente prohibe cobrar un precio que exceda mas del 10%
del precio de un articulo antes de una declaracion de emergencia estatal o local. Para
cualquier articulo que un vendedor solo comenzara a vender después de una
declaracion de emergencia, la ley generalmente prohibe cobrar un precio que exceda el
costo del articulo por parte del vendedor mas del 50%. Esta ley se aplica a quienes
venden alimentos, suministros de emergencia, suministros médicos, materiales de
construccion y gasolina. La ley también se aplica a los servicios de reparacion o
reconstruccion, servicios de limpieza de emergencia, ciertos servicios de transporte,
servicios de carga y almacenamiento, alojamiento en hoteles y viviendas de renta.
Existen excepciones a esta prohibicién si, por ejemplo, el precio de la mano de obra,
los bienes o los materiales ha aumentado para la empresa.

Los infractores del estatuto de especulacion de precios estan sujetos a enjuiciamiento
penal que puede resultar en un afio de presa en la carcel del condado y/o una multa de
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hasta $10,000. Los infractores también estan sujetos a acciones de cumplimiento civil,
incluyendo sanciones civiles de hasta $2,500 por infraccion, medidas cautelares y
restitucion obligatoria. El Fiscal General y los fiscales de distrito locales pueden
enforzar el estatuto.

Para mas informacion sobre el elevacion de precios, viste la pagina
oag.ca.gov/consumers/pricegougingduringdisasters.

Para mas informacion, visite el sitio web de CSLB o conéctese con nosotros en
Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, y YouTube.

Sobre CSLB: CSLB opera bajo de la agencia del Departamento de Asuntos del
Consumidor y licencias y regula a 285,000 contratistas en California.
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materiales de CSLB electrénicamente. Su direccién de correo electronico no se comparte con fuentes de
terceros. Suscribirse Darse de baja.

Por favor no responde a este correo electronico. La informaciéon de contacto se puede encontrar en el sitio web
de la CSLB.
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