
 

www.cslb.ca.gov   |   www.CheckTheLicenseFirst.com   | www.SeniorScamStopper.com   

September 20, 2021 CSLB #21-09 
CSLB Media Contacts 

Joyia Emard 
Information Officer II 

916.880-0590 
joyia.emard@cslb.ca.gov 

Kevin Durawa 
Information Officer 

916.255.4693 
kevin.durawa@cslb.ca.gov 

Natalie Watmore  
Information Officer  

916.255.3915 
natalie.watmore@cslb.ca.gov    

 
Wildfire Survivors Urged to Hire Only Licensed Contractors  

for Repairs, Debris Clearing or Rebuilding 
 

Contractors State License Board cautions consumers to check licenses 
and avoid being victimized by unlicensed individuals. 

 
SACRAMENTO, Calif. – Devastating wildfires have destroyed thousands of structures 
in California and many survivors must now clear property and start the rebuilding 
process. The Contractors State License Board (CSLB) urges wildfire survivors to hire 
only California-licensed contractors to avoid being victimized by unlicensed persons and 
transient criminals.  

Additionally, wildfire debris removal should not be done without first reviewing federal 
and state options or before consulting local officials. More information is available on the 
Governor’s Office of Emergency Services website under “debris removal.” 

"Disasters bring out the very best in people, with strangers and neighbors helping each 
other," said CSLB Registrar David Fogt. "Unfortunately, unscrupulous individuals are 
drawn to these areas and try to take advantage of vulnerable home and business 
owners. Wildfire survivors need to be especially cautious about hiring reputable, 
licensed contractors to repair, rebuild, or clear property." 

A CSLB-issued license is required for any construction job totaling $500 or more in 
labor and materials. Additionally, it is a felony to contract without a license in a declared 
disaster area. Licensed contractors have met experience and testing requirements carry 
a license bond, passed a criminal background check and carry workers’ compensation 
insurance for employees. 

To help survivors, CSLB’s Disaster Help Center webpage offers publications and 
videos. These include an After a Disaster, Don't Get Scammed brochure, and a 
Rebuilding After a Disaster video and fact sheet. All information is also available by 
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calling CSLB's Disaster Hotline, 800-962-1125, which is staffed Monday to Friday, from 
8 a.m. to 5 p.m., or by calling the automated assistance line at 800-321-CSLB (2752). 

"CSLB will aggressively seek those trying to take advantage of wildfire survivors by 
partnering with local and state agencies to conduct sweeps and undercover 
enforcement operations in disaster areas," Fogt said.  

Tips for Hiring a Contractor 
 
Hire only California-licensed contractors. Ask to see the license. The number must be 
on all advertisements, contracts and business cards. 
 
Check the license number on CSLB’s website or by phone at 800-321-CSLB (2752). 
Confirm the contractor has workers’ compensation insurance for employees.  
 
Create a personalized list of licensed, area contractors using the Find My Licensed 
Contractor.  

Get three bids, check references, and get a written contract. 

Don't rush into decisions and don't hire the first contractor who comes along. 

Don't pay more than 10 percent down or $1,000—whichever is less. 

Don't pay cash, and don't let the payments get ahead of the work. Only pay for work as 
it is completed to your satisfaction 

Keep a job file of all project papers, including correspondence and copies of all 
payments. 
 
Avoid making the final payment until you’re satisfied with the job. 
 
In most cases, in a disaster area, consumers have up to seven business days to cancel 
a contract without penalty.  
 
For more information, visit CSLB’s website, or connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, 
Instagram, and YouTube. 
 
About CSLB: CSLB operates under the umbrella of the Department of Consumer Affairs and 

licenses and regulates nearly 281,000 contractors in California. In 2020, CSLB helped 

consumers recover more than $26 million in ordered restitution. 
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