TITLE 16. CONTRACTORS STATE LICENSE BOARD
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Contractors State License Board (CSLB) is
proposing to take the action described in the Informative Digest. Any person interested
may present statements or arguments orally or in writing relevant to the action
proposed at a hearing to be held at the Contractors State License Board, 9821
Business Park Drive, Sacramento, California 95827 at 1 pm on Thursday, February 11,
2010. Written comments, including those sent by mail, facsimile, or e-mail to the
addresses listed under Contact Person in this Notice, must be received by CSLB at its
office not later than 5:00 p.m. on February 11, 2010, or at the hearing. CSLB, upon its
own motion or at the instance of any interested party, may thereafter adopt the
proposals substantially as described below or may modify such proposals if such
modifications are sufficiently related to the original text. With the exception of technical
or grammatical changes, the full text of any modified proposal will be available for 15
days prior to its adoption from the person designated in this Notice as contact person
and will be mailed to those persons who submit written or oral testimony related to this
proposal or who have requested notification of any changes to the proposal.

Authority and Reference Citations: Pursuant to the authority vested by Sections 7008
of the Business and Professions (B&P) Code, and to implement, interpret or make
specific Sections 7137 of said Code, CSLB is considering changes to Division 8 of Title
16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows:

INFORMATIVE DIGEST/POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW

Amend Section 811 — Fees.

B&P Code Section 7008 authorizes CSLB to adopt rules and regulations, in accordance
with the Administrative Procedures Act, that are reasonably necessary to carry out the
provisions of the chapter of the B&P Code. Further, B&P Code Section 7137 specifies
that CSLB may charge licensing fees and requires CSLB to set the level of those fees
by regulation not to exceed specified amounts.

This proposal would amend the existing regulation by increasing the following licensing
and examination fees charged by CSLB, starting on July 1, 2011:

Current | Proposed | Proposed
Fee Amount Amount Increase

Application for Original Contractor’s License $250.00 $300.00 $50.00

Application to Add a Supplemental
Classification or to Replace the Responsible
Managing Officer or Employee on an Existing

License $50.00 $75.00 $25.00
Rescheduling an Examination $50.00 $60.00 $10.00
Initial License Fee $150.00 $180.00 $30.00

Renewal - Contractor’s License (Biennial) $300.00 $360.00 $60.00




Renewal - 4-Year Inactive License $150.00 $180.00 $30.00
Reactivate Contractor’s License $300.00 $360.00 $60.00
Home Improvement Salesperson (HIS)

Registration Fee $50.00 $75.00 $25.00
Asbestos Certification Fee $50.00 $75.00 $25.00
Hazardous Substance Removal Certificate $50.00 $75.00 $25.00
Delinquent Renewal - Contactor’s License /1 $150.00 $180.00 $30.00
Delinquent Renewal - 4-Year Inactive License /1 $75.00 $90.00 $15.00
Delinquent Renewal - HIS Registration /1 $25.00 $37.50 $12.50

/1 Delinquent renewal fees are not included in the proposed regulation because B&P
Code Section 7137 (f) sets the delinquency fee as a percentage of the applicable

renewal fee:

“The delinquency fee is an amount equal to 50 percent of the renewal fee, if the license

is renewed after its expiration.”

FISCAL IMPACT ESTIMATES

Fiscal Impact on Public Agencies Including Costs or Savings to State Agencies

or Costs/Savings in Federal Funding to the State: CSLB would incur special-

fund costs from implementing the increased fees as a result of updating notices
and publications that list its licensing fee schedule. These updates would require
programming changes for computer-generated forms and revising a small
number of print publications. These costs are anticipated to be minor and
absorbable by CSLB (totaling no more than $50,000). CSLB revenue from
contractor licensing fees would increase by an average of $10.2 million per fiscal
year starting in FY 2011/12.

Nondiscretionary Costs/Savings to Local Agencies: None

Local Mandate: The proposed regulatory action does not impose a mandate on
local agencies or schools.

Cost to Any Local Agency or School District for Which Government Code Section
17561 Requires Reimbursement: None

Business Impact:

CSLB has made an initial determination that the proposed regulatory action
would have no significant statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting
business, including the ability of California businesses to compete with
businesses in other states. In making this determination, CSLB relied on the fact
that, under the revised regulatory language, licensees would be required to pay
only $60 in additional renewal fees every two years.

Impact on Jobs/New Businesses:

CSLB has determined that this regulatory proposal will not have a significant

impact on the creation of jobs or new businesses or the elimination of jobs or

existing businesses or the expansion of businesses in the State of California.
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Cost Impact on Representative Private Person or Business:

The cost impacts that a representative private person or business would
necessarily incur in reasonable compliance with the proposed action and that are
known to CSLB are only those costs that must be borne by applicants for
licensure as contractors or by licensed contractors renewing their licenses or
applying for additional classifications as described in the Informative Digest.

Effect on Housing Costs: No significant effect.

EFFECT ON SMALL BUSINESS

CSLB has determined that the proposed regulations would affect small
businesses that are subject to the payment of licensure fees under the chapter.

CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES

CSLB must determine that no reasonable alternative it considered to the
regulation or that has otherwise been identified and brought to its attention would either
be more effective in carrying out the purpose for which the action is proposed or would
be as effective and less burdensome to affected private persons than the proposal
described in this Notice.

Any interested person may present statements or arguments orally or in writing
relevant to the above determinations at the above-mentioned hearing.

INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS AND INFORMATION

CSLB has prepared an initial statement of the reasons for the proposed action
and has available all the information upon which the proposal is based.

TEXT OF PROPOSAL

Copies of the exact language of the proposed regulations and of the initial
statement of reasons, and all of the information upon which the proposal is based, may
be obtained at the hearing or prior to the hearing upon request from CSLB at 9821
Business Park Drive, Sacramento, California 95827, or by accessing the website at
www.cslb.ca.gov.

AVAILABILITY AND LOCATION OF THE FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS AND
RULEMAKING FILE

All the information upon which the proposed regulations are based is contained
in the rulemaking file which is available for public inspection by contacting the person
named below.

You may obtain a copy of the final statement of reasons once it has been
prepared, by making a written request to the contact person named below.
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CONTACT PERSON

Inquiries or comments concerning the proposed rulemaking action may be addressed
to:

Name: Jonathan Buttle

Address: 9821 Business Park Drive
Sacramento, CA 95827

Telephone No.: (916) 255-1953

Fax No.: (916) 364-0130

E-Mail Address: jbuttle@cslb.ca.gov

The backup contact person is:

Name: Betsy Figueira

Address: 9821 Business Park Drive
Sacramento, CA 95827

Telephone No.: (916) 255-3369

Fax No.: (916) 255-6335

E-Mail Address: bfigueira@cslb.ca.gov

Website Access: Materials regarding this proposal can be found at www.cslb.ca.gov.




