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You can file a complaint online at www.cslb.ca.gov, 
by mail (after downloading a complaint form) or 
by requesting a form through CSLB’s automated 
telephone system at 1-800-321-CSLB (2752).

Any way you file your complaint, you will need to 
send CSLB copies (not the original documents) 
of all relevant printed documentation (no CDs or 
flash drives). All pertinent information, such as 
all contracts (all pages, front and back), change 
orders, and cancelled checks (front and back), 
should be included and mailed to the appropriate 
office below. Photos also can be submitted. 
Failure to provide all documentation could result 
in a processing delay.

For complaints about work performed in Imperial, 
Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, 
San Diego, and Ventura counties, send complaint 
forms and documentation to:

		  Norwalk Intake and Mediation Center  
12501 East Imperial Highway, Suite 620  
Norwalk, CA 90650 

For complaints about work performed in any 
California county not mentioned above, send 
complaint forms and documentation to:

		  Sacramento Intake and Mediation Center  
P.O. Box 269116  
Sacramento, CA 95826-9116 

How to File a 
Complaint

CSLB Arbitration Programs
CSLB administers two arbitration programs: a 
mandatory program for disputes involving alleged 
damages of $12,500 or less, and a voluntary program 
for disputes involving allegations of damage between 
$12,500 and $50,000.

Complaints must meet stringent criteria to qualify for 
referral to a CSLB arbitration program. CSLB staff will 
determine whether the dispute meets these criteria.

For more information about these programs, review 
CSLB’s Mandatory Arbitration Program or Voluntary 
Arbitration Program guides. Both are available on the 
CSLB website at www.cslb.ca.gov, or by calling  
1-800-321-CSLB (2752).

Information Disclosure

CSLB provides information about the status of a 
contractor’s license, bond, and workers’ compensation 
insurance, as well as pending and prior legal actions. 
This information is available at www.cslb.ca.gov or 
by calling the appropriate Legal Action Disclosure Unit 
listed below:

Northern California:  (916) 255-4041

Southern California:  (562) 345-7656
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The Contractors State License Board (CSLB) protects 
consumers by licensing and regulating California 
contractors. Consumers or contractors who have an 
unresolved issue with a contractor can file a complaint 
with CSLB. CSLB aims to settle complaints through 
early intervention and mediation. 

Complaint Jurisdiction 

Complaints within CSLB’s jurisdiction involve alleged 
violations of California Contractors’ State License Law 
by licensed or unlicensed contractors for up to four 
years from the date of a suspected illegal act.

The term “contractor” includes individuals or 
companies that offer services to improve real 
property including, but not limited to, home building, 
remodeling, room additions, swimming pools, painting, 
roofing, landscaping, plumbing, electrical, heating 
and air-conditioning, and the installation and repair of 
mobile homes.

CSLB provides help to consumers through mediation, 
arbitration, referral to other government agencies, or by 
providing information about other avenues for individual 
redress. These alternatives include small claims court 
and referring consumers with private arbitration 
clauses in their contracts to the arbitration process. 
CSLB will take legal action against a contractor, when 
appropriate, for violations of the applicable state laws 
and regulations.

How Complaints are Handled
CSLB reviews every written complaint to determine if it falls 
within its jurisdiction. Complaints involving a threat to public 
health and safety, elder abuse, and cases where consumers 
have suffered a significant financial injury are given the 
highest priority. CSLB also prioritizes complaints based on 
the order of receipt, and available resources and staffing.

Once a complaint has been received, CSLB’s Intake 
and Mediation Center representatives mail a written 
confirmation to the complainant. A notice also is sent to 
the contractor to encourage resolution without further 
CSLB intervention.

Mediation

If the complaint is not resolved by the disputing 
parties, CSLB may ask for additional information and/or 
documentation. A consumer services representative (CSR) 
may call the parties and/or will make the arrangements if 
mediation is appropriate.

If mediation is unsuccessful, other options include referral 
to a CSLB arbitration program, assignment to a CSLB 
enforcement representative (ER) for investigation, or 
referral to alternative civil or dispute resolution methods.

Depending on the severity of the actions, the complaint 
may be closed with a warning letter to the contractor. 
A warning letter remains a matter of record and could 
support further action against the contractor if future 
violations occur.

Investigation

If a CSR determines that the complaint requires further 
investigation, it will be assigned to an ER. The ER’s 
investigation will determine if there is adequate evidence 
to support a finding of a violation of Contractors’ State 
License Law. The investigation may include interviews with 
anyone involved in or who has information about the case.

Disciplinary Action

Licensed contractors found guilty of violating the law 
can face suspension or loss of their license. Citations 
also may include civil penalties of up to $5,000 and/or 
orders to make or compensate for repairs. (If disciplinary 
action is undertaken, the case is prosecuted on behalf of 
CSLB by the state Attorney General’s Office. The Attorney 
General is not counsel for the complainant.)

Small Claims Court

An investigation by CSLB does not guarantee restitution to 
complainants. If your primary interest is to gain restitution, 
you should pursue the matter in small claims court or 
consult an attorney. A brochure that explains how to file 
a claim in small claims court (for damages of $10,000 or 
less) is available on the CSLB website, www.cslb.ca.gov 
or by calling (800) 321-CSLB (2752). The California Courts 
website provides additional details about small claims 
topics at http://www.courts.ca.gov/1256.htm. 

If you prevail in a civil or arbitration case against a licensed 
contractor, send CSLB documentation that proves your case 
was construction-related and that you have an unsatisfied, 
final judgment against the contractor.  If satisfactory proof 
is received, CSLB has authority to suspend the contractor’s 
license if the judgment or award is final and not satisfied. 

Unlicensed Activity

It is illegal to contract in California for jobs that  

are $500 or more (combined labor and material 

costs) without a state contractor license. CSLB 

actively works against unlicensed activity and the 

illegal underground economy through undercover 

sting operations, sweeps of active construction 

sites, and assisting with prosecution undertaken 

by local jurisdictions.

Homeowners may have little recourse if dissatisfied 

with a project that was undertaken by an unlicensed 

contractor. CSLB can issue a warning, a citation, 

or refer the complaint to a local district attorney; 

however, it is ultimately up to the homeowner to 

seek restitution for damage or repair caused by an 

unlicensed contractor.


