Bay Area Serial Offender Lands Back on CSLB’s Most Wanted List
Revoked painter wanted for misrepresenting license, grand theft, taking excessive down payments
SACRAMENTO — Khalid Wilson, 41, of Oakland, is back on CSLB’s Most Wanted. Wilson has a total of $138,500 in outstanding warrants for his arrest in Alameda and Contra Costa Counties, stemming from numerous East San Francisco Bay Area consumer complaints that he took illegally large down payments and did very little or substandard, incomplete work.
Contractors State License Board partners at the Alameda County District Attorney’s Office have filed felony charges against Wilson for fraudulent use of a contractor license number and grand theft, and misdemeanor charges for soliciting excessive down payments, contracting without a license, and illegal advertising.
Investigators believe Wilson has been using his contractor license number that was revoked in 2004 to obtain work, in violation of Business and Professions Code (B&P) section 7027.3, which can be charged as a felony subject to one year in state prison or county jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000. He also is suspected of misdemeanor violations of soliciting down payments for home improvement contracts that are beyond the legal limit—10 percent of the total contract or $1,000, whichever is less—in violation of B&P Code section 7159.5(a)(3), contracting without a license, and illegal advertising.
Alameda County has a $100,000 arrest warrant for Wilson on one felony count of 7027.3, and another $10,000 warrant for two counts of the same, a $1,000 misdemeanor warrant for contracting without a license, and a $2,500 warrant for driving on a suspended or revoked license.
Wilson was captured and taken off of CSLB’s Most Wanted list in 2008. In September of that year, he pleaded no contest to charges of misrepresenting his contractor license and contracting without a license. On December 9, 2008, Wilson pleaded guilty to misrepresenting his contractor license and contracting without a license in Contra Costa County Superior Court. He also failed to pay restitution in Contra Costa County in 2010, prompting the issuance of a $15,000 warrant for violation of probation. Wilson also failed to appear at a restitution hearing earlier this year in Alameda County which resulted in another $10,000 warrant for violating probation.
Since Wilson’s license was revoked in 2004, dozens of complaints for poor, incomplete workmanship and illegally large down payments have flooded CSLB, with more than half resulting in criminal filings. "Checking your contractor’s license on the CSLB website is vital," said CSLB Registrar Steve Sands. "It’s one of the best ways to avoid being deceived, as Wilson has been doing to unsuspecting Bay Area consumers."
Individuals included on the CSLB Most Wanted list have been identified as some of the worst unlicensed violators and are known to prey on vulnerable and unsuspecting homeowners. Complaints against these individuals have been lodged with CSLB, law enforcement agencies, and prosecutors’ offices around the state, and warrants have been issued for the arrest of those who appear on this list.
Anyone who knows the whereabouts of a person on the CSLB Most Wanted list can contact their local police or sheriff's department. After contacting local law enforcement, call CSLB at (916) 255-2924 for northern California; (559) 445-5583 for central California or (562) 345-7600 for southern California.
CSLB urges consumers to follow these tips before hiring anyone to work on their home:
- Hire only licensed contractors and ask to see their license and a photo ID to verify their identity.
- Always check the license number on CSLB’s website at www.cslb.ca.gov or www.CheckTheLicenseFirst.com to make sure the license is in good standing, and that a workers' compensation policy is in place if the contractor has employees.
- Don’t pay more than 10 percent or $1,000, whichever is less, as a down payment. (There is an exception for about two dozen licensees who carry special bonds to protect consumers. These exceptions are noted on CSLB’s website.)
- Don’t pay in cash, and don’t let payments get ahead of the work.
- Get at least three bids, check references, and get a written contract.
The Contractors State License Board operates under the umbrella of the California Department of Consumer Affairs. More information and publications about hiring contractors are available on the CSLB website or by calling 800-321-CSLB (2752). You can also sign up for CSLB email alerts. CSLB licenses and regulates California's 300,000 contractors, and is regarded as one of the leading consumer protection agencies in the United States. In fiscal year 2010-11, CSLB helped recover nearly $45 million in ordered restitution for consumers.
Sign Up For News Release Email Alerts
Please type in your email below and click submit.