State Contractors Board Alerts Homeowners to Watch Out for Illegal Roofing Contractor
Placer County man arrested twice last week for illegal contracting is out on bail again
Sacramento — The Contractors State License Board (CSLB) is warning homeowners to be on the alert when hiring a roofer in the Sacramento/Placer County region. A Loomis man, Louis Wildon Euer, whose contractor's license (#602253) was revoked in 1994, was arrested twice last week by the Contractors Board and Placer County authorities. He currently is out on bail, again.
When Euer was arrested at his home in Loomis last Tuesday (October 11), it was believed that he was illegally using the name of a legitimate contractor from Truckee. Euer allegedly presented to several victims a print out from the CSLB Web site with the licensed contractor's name, license number and bond information. But, he had changed the address to his own. From that arrest, Euer faces three felony counts of Fraudulent Use of a License (Business & Professions Code 7027.3; two felony counts of Fraudulent Use of a Document (Penal Code 532a, 3&4); and three misdemeanor counts of Contracting Without a License (Business & Professions Code 7028). On Wednesday, Euer was released on $25,000 bail.
Euer's latest and second arrest came during an undercover sting operation in Rocklin last Friday (October 14) when he submitted a roofing bid over California's legal limit for contracting without a license ($500 in labor and materials). There were 18 signed contracts from homeowners in his possession during that arrest. Three of the contracts were signed between the time of the two arrests while Euer was out on Bail. In addition to three new charges from the CSLB, the Placer County District Attorney's (DA) Office expects to charge Euer with a felony count of committing the same crime as the one he was released on bail for (Penal Code 12022.1).
"We can't emphasize this message enough to consumers - Check out your contractor before you hire them," said CSLB Registrar Steve Sands "Ask to see their pocket license, which has their license number and name. Ask to see a picture I.D. to make sure it matches the license. Then, check them out with the Board to make sure they're licensed and don't have any actions against them."
Any consumer who's had contact or hired Euer for a roofing job is urged to contact Investigator Rick Villucci of the CSLB's Statewide Investigative Fraud Team at (916) 255-1969.
The CSLB urges consumers to follow these tips when hiring any contractor:
- Hire only licensed contractors
- Verify the license owner, business name and address and ask for a picture I.D.
- Verify the contractor's license by checking online or via CSLB's automated phone service at 1-800-321-CSLB (2752)
- Get three bids and check references
- Get a written contract
- Do not pay more than 10 percent down or $1,000, whichever is less
- Do not let payments get ahead of the work
- Do not pay cash
The Contractors State License Board operates under the umbrella of the California Department of Consumer Affairs. The CSLB licenses and regulates California's 292,000 contractors, and investigates more than 20,000 complaints against contractors annually. In fiscal year 2004-05, the CSLB helped consumers get more than $36 million in restitution. To check out a contractor's license, visit our Web site at www.cslb.ca.gov call (800) 321-CSLB (2752).
Sign Up For News Release Email Alerts
Please type in your email below and click submit.