State Contractors Board Slams Shut Illegal Cabinet Operation
Arrested Suspect has criminal past of jail time and child molest charges
SACRAMENTO — A Sacramento man suspected of ripping off a number of local homeowners was arrested Tuesday after he fell into a sting operation organized by the Contractors State License Board (CSLB) with help from the Sacramento County District Attorney's Office. The CSLB was looking into a number of complaints against 40-year-old Steven Lightfoot for taking money without completing projects. The unlicensed operator was invited to an undercover sting location in Sacramento where he bid $10-12,000 for a cabinet installation job. By law unlicensed operators can only work on jobs under $500 without a Contractors License.
Steven Lightfoot may find himself facing even more jail time. He was still on probation at the time of his arrest. Lightfoot had served time in Sacramento County Jail and was convicted of numerous counts of (PC288a) Lewd acts with a child under the age of 14. Tuesday's charges include contracting without a license, illegal advertising and fraudulent use of a contractor's license number. His truck and tool trailer were also impounded. The Sacramento County District Attorney is looking into additional counts that could be filed as the investigation proceeds.
Several complaints were filed with CSLB against Lightfoot for taking money without completing jobs. It is believed there may be more victims who have not been identified yet. They are strongly encouraged to contact the Board at: (916) 255-2924 / FAX (916) 369-7265.
"A few simple steps can protect you and your family," said CSLB Registrar Steve Sands. "Make sure everything matches up - contractors license number, personal ID and check with the Board to see if there are any complaints."
The CSLB also urges consumers to follow these tips when hiring any contractor:
- Hire only licensed contractors
- Verify the license owner, business name and address and ask for a picture I.D.
- Verify the contractor's license at www.cslb.ca.gov or call 1-800-321-CSLB (2752)
- Get three bids and check references
- Get a written contract
- Do not pay more than 10 percent down or $1,000, whichever is less
- Do not let payments get ahead of the work
- Do not pay cash
The Contractors State License Board operates under the umbrella of the California Department of Consumer Affairs. The CSLB licenses and regulates California's 292,000 contractors, and investigates more than 20,000 complaints against contractors annually. In fiscal year 2004-05, the CSLB helped consumers get more than $36 million in restitution. To check out a contractor's license, visit our Web site at www.cslb.ca.gov or call (800) 321-CSLB (2752).
Sign Up For News Release Email Alerts
Please type in your email below and click submit.