Welcome to the State of California

Change the text size:
Small | Medium | Large

CSLB Industry Bulletin - 04/22/2010

Hefty Fines for Violators of New Lead Paint Standards to Begin

Federal certification requirements take effect today!


SACRAMENTO -The Contractors State License Board (CSLB) is reminding licensees that starting today, April 22, 2010, contractors could face fines of up to $37,500 for not complying with federal regulations aimed at protecting them and consumers from exposure to dust from lead-based paints.

Contractors conducting renovation or demolition activities in buildings constructed in or before 1978 must receive training from a U.S. EPA-accredited training provider. Contractors or their employees with lead-safety certification from the California Department of Public Health (DPH) may take a four-hour U.S. EPA-accredited course to achieve federal compliance.

At least one person in a firm must be trained and certified in renovation. That firm must then apply to U.S. EPA for firm certification. Certification forms and information on accredited training providers is available at www.epa.gov/lead, or call 1-800-424-LEAD (5323).

The cost for certification is $300, and it is valid for five years. Training costs vary by provider.

The requirements apply to all contractors who disturb lead-based paint in a six-square- foot area or greater indoors, and a 20-square-foot area outdoors. If a DPH-certified inspector or risk assessor determines that a home constructed before 1978 is lead-free, the federal certification is not required for anyone working on that particular building.

Consumers can check whether their licensed contractor has the proper federal lead certification online. A link is available on CSLB’s website (www.cslb.ca.gov).

PLEASE NOTE: Contractors are not required to submit lead-safety certification paperwork to CSLB.