Welcome to the State of California

Contact Us

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive
Sacramento, CA 95827
Phone (800) 321-CSLB (2752)

Other Office Locations


Change the text size:
Small | Medium | Large

Bond Requirements

This section provides information on bond requirements.

Contractor's Bond

A Contractor's Bond is a requirement for the issuance of an active license, reactivation of a license, and for the maintanance of an actively renewed license (Business and Professions Code Section 7071.6). The bond is filed for the benefit of consumers who may be damaged as a result of defective construction or other license law violations, and for the benefit of employees who have not been paid wages that are due to them.

Requirements for the Contractor's Bond:

  • The bond must be written by a surety company licensed through the California Department of Insurance.
  • The bond must be in the amount of $12,500.
  • The business name and license number on the bond must correspond exactly with the business name and license number on the CSLB's records.
  • The bond must have the signature of the attorney-in-fact for the surety company.
  • The bond must be written on a form approved by the Attorney General's Office.
  • The bond must be received at the CSLB's Headquarters Office within 90 days of the effective date of the bond.

Bond of Qualifying Individual

In addition to a Contractor's Bond, a Bond of Qualifying Individual may be required for the issuance of an active license, reactivation of a license, and for the maintanance of an actively renewed license (Business and Professions Code Section 7071.9).

A Bond of Qualifying Individual is required if the license is qualified by a Responsible Managing Employee (RME). A Bond of Qualifying Individual is required if the license is qualified by a Responsible Managing Officer (RMO) who does not own at least 10% of the voting stock of the corporation. If the RMO owns 10% or more of the voting stock of the corporation, they must complete and submit a Bond of Qualifying Individual Exemption Certification.

If a license has more than one RME or RMO qualifying the license, each qualifier must comply with the qualifier bonding requirements.


Requirements for the Bond of Qualifying Individual:

  • The bond must be written by a surety company licensed through the California Department of Insurance.
  • The bond must be in the amount of $12,500.
  • The business name, license number, and qualifier's name on the bond must correspond exactly with the information on the CSLB's records.
  • The bond must have the signature of the attorney-in-fact for the surety company.
  • The bond must be written on a form approved by the Attorney General's Office.
  • The bond must be received at the CSLB's Headquarters Office within 90 days of the effective date of the bond.

Disciplinary Bond

If a license has been revoked for a violation of the Contractors' License Law, the company must file a disciplinary bond with the Registrar in order to reinstate or reissue the license (Business and Professions Code Section 7071.8).

Requirements for the Disciplinary Bond:

  • The disciplinary bond must be filed in addition to any other bond(s) required on an active contractor's license. The disciplinary bond cannot take the place of or be combined with any other bond(s).
  • The Registrar will determine the bond amount, which is based on the seriousness of the violation(s). The amount may not be less than $15,000 nor greater than ten times the amount of the contractors' bond.
  • The disciplinary bond must remain current and on file with the Registrar for at least two years. In some cases, the Registrar may require a longer filing period.
  • The company's license must remain active and current while the disciplinary bond is on file.
  • The bond must be written by a surety company licensed through the California Department of Insurance.
  • The business name and license number on the bond must correspond exactly with the business name and license number on the CSLB's records.
  • The bond must have the signature of the attorney-in-fact for the surety company.
  • The bond must be written on a form approved by the Attorney General's Office.
  • The bond must be received at the CSLB's Headquarters Office within 90 days of the effective date of the bond.